Hon. Liberty Aldrich (Ret.)

Hon. Liberty Aldrich (Ret.) has over 25 years’ experience in family law, access to justice and non-profit management. She is currently the Executive Director of The Children’s Law Center, a twenty-five-year-old non-profit law firm dedicated to upholding children’s rights in New York City Family Courts. Prior to assuming her position as Executive Director, Ms. Aldrich served as a Family Court Judge in Bronx, NY. During her time on the bench, she oversaw custody, domestic violence and child protective matters as well as served as the chair of the training committee of the New York City Family Court Judges Association. Additionally, she worked with court partners to host Teen Day 2023, bringing over 30 service providers to provide linkage and support to teens involved in family court proceedings. Prior to her appointment as a Judge, Ms. Aldrich was at the Center for Court Innovation where she served as Managing Director and General Counsel. As Managing Director, she supervised the growing organization with over 700 staff and led the fiscal, development, human resources, communications and operations teams. In that capacity, she developed in depth knowledge of private and public fundraising strategies. As General Counsel, she provided legal support on supervised release, community programs, city state and federal contracts, employment and real estate, and compliance issues. Ms. Aldrich also directly supervised the Center’s programmatic areas of operation in family law, international rule of law, civil access to justice, domestic violence prevention and human trafficking programs. During her career, she helped launch numerous family court programs including the Parent Support Program, Strong Starts Initiative and the Integrated Domestic Violence Courts and Family Legal Care, a non-profit that has assisted over a hundred thousand families. Ms. Aldrich also served as the director of legal services at Safe Horizon, where she represented domestic violence victims in family and supreme courts and federal immigration proceedings. She has published numerous articles on domestic violence law and policy. Ms. Aldrich graduated from Harvard University and New York University School of Law. She is a native New Yorker who currently lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.

Former Presidents

Hon. Linda Fidnick (Ret.) (2022-2023)
Mindy F. Mitnick, EdM, MA (2021-2022)

Larry S. Fong, PhD (2020-2021)

Matthew Sullivan, PhD (2019-2020)
Hon. Dianna Gould-Saltman (2018-2019)

Annette T. Burns, JD (2017-2018)

Marsha Kline Pruett, ABPP, PhD (2016-2017)

Hon. Peter Boshier (2015-2016)

Richard Altman, JD (2014-2015)

Nancy Ver Steegh, JD (2013-2014)

Arnold Shienvold, PhD (2012-2013)

Linda Fieldstone, MEd (2011-2012)

Robert Smith, JD, MDiv (2010-2011)

Hon. Emile Kruzick (2009-2010)

Robin Deutsch, PhD (2008-2009)

Hon. William Fee (2007-2008)

Mary Ferriter, MPA (2006-2007)

Hon. Hugh Starnes (2005-2006)

Leslye Hunter, MA LMFT (2004-2005)

Hon. George Czutrin (2003-2004)

Jan Shaw, MPA (2002-2003)

Hon. Denise McColley (2001-2002)

Hon. Arline Rotman (2000-2001)

Phil Bushard, DPA (1999-2000)

Christine Coates, MEd, JD (1998-1999)

Hon. Alastair Nicholson (1997-1998)

Linda Hahn, MS (1996-1997)

John Kydd, MSW, JD (1995-1996)

Hon. Douglas McNish (1994-1995)

Robert Tompkins, MA (1993-1994)

Gerald Lecovin, LLB (1992-1993)

Hon. Susan Snow (1991-1992)

Russell Schoeneman, PhD (1990-1991)

Hon. Thomas Bishop (1989-1990)

Hon. Lawrence Kaplan (1988-1989)

Hugh McIsaac, MSW (1987-1988)

Donald Moir (1986-1987)

Anthony "Tim" Salius (1984-1986)

Jay Folberg, Esq. (1983-1984)

Hon. John Van Duzer (1982-1983)

Hon. Frank Orlando (1981-1982)

Hon. Nancy Holman (1980-1981)

Hon. Betty Barteau (1979-1980)

Hon. Marvin Holz (1978-1979)

Hon. Irwin Cantor (1977-1978)

Meyer Elkin (1976-1977)

Hon. Norman Fenton (1975-1976)

Hon. Solie Ringold (1974-1975)

Hon. Betty Vitousek (1973-1974)

Hon. Robert Hunter (1972-1973)

Hon. Byron Lindsley (1971-1972)

Hon. Melvin Cohn (1970-1971)

Hon. Victor Baum (1969-1970)

Hon. William MacFaden (1968-1969)

Hon. Timothy O'Reilly (1967-1968)

Hon. Laurens Henderson (1966-1967)

Hon. James Cunningham Sr. (1965-1966)

Hon. Frank Blum (1964-1965)

Hon. Verne Warner (1963-1964)

Hon. Roger Alton Pfaff (1963)