Joi M. Hollis, LPC, PhD

Joi Hollis retired as the Division Director of the Family Center of the Conciliation Court in Tucson, AZ in March 2024. Dr. Hollis now works as a consultant with National Center for State Courts (NCSC). She worked at the Conciliation Court from 2001, first as a Counselor/Mediator, conducting, mediations, custody evaluations, and parenting coordination. Dr. Hollis was promoted to Clinical Supervisor in September 2009 until her appointment as Director in August 2015. Joi has a Ph.D. in Education Psychology from Walden University in addition to a master’s degree in counseling and Guidance from Boston University. Her doctoral dissertation is entitled; Using a Risk Assessment to predict Family Court Service Use in Custody Disputes. Dr. Hollis is a limited term Adjunct Professor with the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law, teaching Family Mediation.

Dr. Hollis has over 30 years of combined experience working with children, adolescents, and adults in both private mental health and family court settings. Prior to relocating to Tucson, she maintained independent licensure in behavioral health, as a professional counselor and mental health practitioner in Nebraska and Washington State. Joi is a Certified Court Manager through the National Center for State Courts-Institute for Court Management and the Arizona Supreme Court. In 2022, Dr. Hollis was re-appointed to the Arizona Supreme Court’s Committee on the Impact of Domestic Violence and the Courts for a second three-year term. She is a past member of the Family Court Improvement Committee, serving for three years. She previously served as a member of the Task Force on the Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure. She is a past member of the Arizona Supreme Court-Commission on Minorities in the Judiciary, serving for six years.

Dr. Hollis is a longtime member of the Association of Family and Conciliation Courts (AFCC) and the Arizona Chapter of AFCC (AZ-AFCC). In 2021, she was appointed as the Chapter Council Liaison of the AFCC Board. She is a past Board member of AZ-AFCC.

A military veteran, Joi is the proud mother of two adult children.

Former Presidents

Hon. Linda Fidnick (Ret.) (2022-2023)
Mindy F. Mitnick, EdM, MA (2021-2022)

Larry S. Fong, PhD (2020-2021)

Matthew Sullivan, PhD (2019-2020)
Hon. Dianna Gould-Saltman (2018-2019)

Annette T. Burns, JD (2017-2018)

Marsha Kline Pruett, ABPP, PhD (2016-2017)

Hon. Peter Boshier (2015-2016)

Richard Altman, JD (2014-2015)

Nancy Ver Steegh, JD (2013-2014)

Arnold Shienvold, PhD (2012-2013)

Linda Fieldstone, MEd (2011-2012)

Robert Smith, JD, MDiv (2010-2011)

Hon. Emile Kruzick (2009-2010)

Robin Deutsch, PhD (2008-2009)

Hon. William Fee (2007-2008)

Mary Ferriter, MPA (2006-2007)

Hon. Hugh Starnes (2005-2006)

Leslye Hunter, MA LMFT (2004-2005)

Hon. George Czutrin (2003-2004)

Jan Shaw, MPA (2002-2003)

Hon. Denise McColley (2001-2002)

Hon. Arline Rotman (2000-2001)

Phil Bushard, DPA (1999-2000)

Christine Coates, MEd, JD (1998-1999)

Hon. Alastair Nicholson (1997-1998)

Linda Hahn, MS (1996-1997)

John Kydd, MSW, JD (1995-1996)

Hon. Douglas McNish (1994-1995)

Robert Tompkins, MA (1993-1994)

Gerald Lecovin, LLB (1992-1993)

Hon. Susan Snow (1991-1992)

Russell Schoeneman, PhD (1990-1991)

Hon. Thomas Bishop (1989-1990)

Hon. Lawrence Kaplan (1988-1989)

Hugh McIsaac, MSW (1987-1988)

Donald Moir (1986-1987)

Anthony "Tim" Salius (1984-1986)

Jay Folberg, Esq. (1983-1984)

Hon. John Van Duzer (1982-1983)

Hon. Frank Orlando (1981-1982)

Hon. Nancy Holman (1980-1981)

Hon. Betty Barteau (1979-1980)

Hon. Marvin Holz (1978-1979)

Hon. Irwin Cantor (1977-1978)

Meyer Elkin (1976-1977)

Hon. Norman Fenton (1975-1976)

Hon. Solie Ringold (1974-1975)

Hon. Betty Vitousek (1973-1974)

Hon. Robert Hunter (1972-1973)

Hon. Byron Lindsley (1971-1972)

Hon. Melvin Cohn (1970-1971)

Hon. Victor Baum (1969-1970)

Hon. William MacFaden (1968-1969)

Hon. Timothy O'Reilly (1967-1968)

Hon. Laurens Henderson (1966-1967)

Hon. James Cunningham Sr. (1965-1966)

Hon. Frank Blum (1964-1965)

Hon. Verne Warner (1963-1964)

Hon. Roger Alton Pfaff (1963)